Today at the local coffee shop downstairs I heard the order go out from a thirty-something man accompanied by his wife and young child "one skinny babycino please'. I thought to myself what the f$%k is a babycino and what self respecting parents would subject their young child to the pretentious coffee culture that runs rife through Sydney.
I for one have never been a coffee person and I know there are others out there who literally cannot start their day with out their caffeine fix. I made a conscious effort never to become an addict to anything and coffee is the one that never really appealed to me. I used to work with a guy who would start his day with a quad-expresso then two hours later he would follow up with another quad-expresso. So within 2 hours he would have had 8 hits of coffee - more than most normal coffee drinkers have in a week. He was totally wired and someone had to speak to him about his coffee drinking habits as he was becoming extremely aggressive.
I think something as addictive as coffee should really be left to the individual to decide (most likey at university) and not for young parents to impose on their designer-clad babies. These parents are already breeding a sense of pretentiousness and 'worth' at too young an age merely for their own sake and not the happiness of the child. Give the child a glass of orange juice and call it an 'organic orange fruit extract' if the term "juice" is too low-brow.
Saturday, July 12, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)